What It Means to be a Good Friend

Friendship is one of the greatest gifts in this life. We all value friendship, but I think we’ve lost sight of what friendship really means. How many of your friends would you consider good friends? Now I know a lot of people use the word “good” to indicate that someone is a close friend. But when I say good friend, I’m talking about the quality of the friendship – the opposite of a bad friend.

About a month ago I was FaceTiming my best friend, Devin and I was asking her what I should make my next blog post about and if you know Devin, you probably wouldn’t be surprised that it only took her half of a second to say “WRITE ABOUT ME!” 😉 I jokingly responded with, “I don’t think people would want to read a blog about you!”

But here I am, writing a blog inspired by Dev, and a few other people in my life that have showed me the true meaning of friendship. I, personally, have had a very rough past year and it was those friends that helped me get through it and continue to help me get through every day. I thought of all the qualities in these friendships that made me so grateful to have these people in my life so I decided to make a list!

  1. Be there. Even in silence. Sometimes it means everything in the world to just be there and sit with them.
  2. Guide them when they need it. Give them advice and help cheer them up when they are down.
  3. Listen. Sometimes people don’t need advice, they just need someone to vent to and to actually listen to them.
  4. Be honest. No matter how difficult it may be.
  5. Support them. Everyone has something in there life that they are passionate about and is very important to them. Even if you don’t share the same passion, show you care about them by supporting them.
  6. Be loyal. “A friend isn’t a friend until they have defended you in your absence.”
  7. Remain friends despite your differences. It’s okay that they voted for Trump, not everyone can be as smart as you 😉
  8. Accept the person as they are, without conditions. There will be things about a person that you can’t stand or things you wish they wouldn’t do. Know someone’s least admirable characteristics and still love and support them.
  9. Forgive. You would not be human if you never made mistakes. Understand that others are bound to make mistakes throughout your friendship as well and you must forgive them for that, don’t judge them, and don’t hold a grudge.
  10. Be yourself. It’s a good friendship if you are completely comfortable around the other person, and don’t ever feel like you are being judged for being you.
  11. Help improve their life. Inspire them. And through your friendship, make them want to be a better person.
  12. Make your friendship a priority. Yes, people have very busy lives but it doesn’t take much to send a text message, make a phone call, or go get lunch every once in a while just to show you care.
  13. Don’t let your own stuff get in the way. The ego is powerful, don’t let it ruin a friendship.
  14. Communicate. If there is something that is bothering you, talk about it. I have seen so many friendships and even relationships fail because of lack of communication.
  15. Love unconditionally. It’s easy to love someone and be there for someone when it is convenient for you, but a true friend is committed to you regardless of life’s circumstances.

“A friend loves at all times”

Proverbs 17:17

Leave a Reply

